On Fighting Ice

This winter has confirmed my belief that a greenhouse may well be the single most important piece of farm infrastructure. The picture posted is a low-hoop over spinach and beets, which was quickly and irreparably destroyed by the recent snow storm. As you probably know, this last December was the coldest on record. This in spite of the near 60-degree whether with which the month began and ended. I’ve attempted these low-hoops on several occasions, often with great results, but they simply won’t stand up to the snow. I’ve got some ideas for a more structurally sound design, but I really don’t think the low-hoop design is ideal. I get confused in a garden under cover. And something about the plastic veil seems to detract from the natural elegance of a garden.

My friend Mike and I have come up with a pretty neat movable hoophouse design, borrowing much from Elliot Coleman. I’ll likely build one at some point this year, but in the meantime I’m pretty much forced to take a much needed break. A break, that is, until I need to start seeds for transplant. And that time is basically as soon as possible. I’ll post pictures of the little greenhouse we built as soon as we move it to the garden.

Leave a Reply

